Skip to content

Guru? Who? You?

March 18, 2011

Every now and then I receive a comment from a reader who has landed on my blog and questions what my site is about.  Today I’ll take a moment to explain the title, “Ubuntu Guru”.

First, I do not claim to be a guru. I strive to become more knowledgeable on many subjects, and regard my writing as a significant part of the learning process. I like to share knowledge, write, and teach, but I cannot claim having ‘great’ knowledge as there are so many experts out there with far greater knowledge.  I have always turned to them as teachers and guides, and as such I often regard them as a ‘guru’ on the subject.  Let’s examine the definition of a ‘guru’. According to the Wikipedia, a guru is:

“one who is regarded as having great knowledge, wisdom and authority in a certain area, and who uses it to guide others (teacher). Other forms of manifestation of this principle also include parents, school teachers, non-human objects (books) and even one’s own intellectual discipline”.

Ubuntu as explained in Wikipedia is both a philosophy and a computer OS named after that philosophy.

“is an ethic or humanist philosophy focusing on people’s allegiances and relations with each other.”  … “I am what I am because of who we all are.”

Ubuntu, to care about others, is a noble virtue.  This is why the logo for my site shows Buddha, the enlightened one, thinking about Ubuntu.  Buddha was a great teacher, truly among the greatest of all gurus.

Although I’ve most often focused on writing about Ubuntu the operating system for computers.  I intend to also write about many other topics, which will hopefully extend this overall philosophy of Ubuntu and sharing wisdom with others.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

