Skip to content

Mobile Broadband Wireless Netbook

December 31, 2009

This is my first blog posting from my netbook using my new unlimited internet cellphone plan. I’m online using an old Motorola RAZR V3R cell through bluetooth. I’m running blueman-applet in Ubuntu to tether to the cell as a GPRS modem. It’s not the fastest, but it only costs $10 a month!

Now I have internet anytime anywhere on my netbook that I have a cell signal. It’s slow, with tests ranging from 22kbps+ depending on the test site. http://i.dslr.net/iphone_speedtest.html returned an average latency of 1200ms and 55kbps speed.

I’m content with accessing mobile sites for basic web access, via my cell where I can’t get faster WIFI access. It’s fine for basic stuff like email, blogging, chatting, checking news, stocks, and weather.

It was quite the complicated pain and a lot of hacking hours to iron all the kinks out to get it working. Problems mainly in getting all the parts configured correctly: the cellphone, browser proxy, blueman-applet and so on. The steps I followed will need to be the topic of another future blog entry…

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 12:51 am

    i want to get a new broadband internet connection

Leave a Reply

