Skip to content

Awesome Addressbook for Netbook Remix

July 27, 2009

If you manage your contacts with Thunderbird addressbook, you’ll want to know how to quickly open the addressbook separately to look up a contact. I’ll show you how.   I use Thunderbird IMAP to manage my Gmail account and am very pleased with it, but sometimes I want to see just my contacts and not all my Thunderbird email first. Here’s how:

Option 1: Press ALT-F2 and enter in the “Run Application” box mozilla-thunderbird -addressbook.
Option 2: Add to your gnome panel a custom launcher using that command.
Option 3: Add to your netbook favorites menu an Addressbook launcher.

But option 3 is the best setup so I’ll show you how:

In the Ubuntu menu, go Preferences–>Main Menu–>Accessories (you can add it under Office or wherever you like) Click the “+New Item” button. A “Create Launcher” window comes up. (In my latest version of “9.10 Karmic Netbook Remix” there’s a bug that doesn’t show the labels.) Here’s what I enter: Application, Addressbook, mozilla-thunderbird -addressbook, Thunderbird Tool.

launcher properties

Click the icon on the upper left to change the icon. I used the one from my old “Contacts” app (see bottom). OK your choices then go back to the Ubuntu menu–>Accessories (or wherever you added it). Right click to add it to your favourites. Done!  I’ve also enjoyed a Favourites drop down menu added to my gnome bar on the top right. Addressbook fast and easy! Here’s a screenshot of what my netbook setup looks like:

favorites menu

If you use Evolution, a great little gnome app in Ubuntu is “Contacts” which quickly opens your Evolution addressbook for managing contacts. I used it side by side with Evolution for a year and liked it. I would continue using it but I haven’t figured out how to export Thunderbird contacts into it. So I’ll just stick with using the Thunderbird addressbook. Adding a launcher for the Thunderbird Addressbook like a separate mini app makes “Contacts” pointless anyway.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 4:55 pm

    the best and cheap netbooks are made by Asus or MSI, if you want reliability then the best is Hitachi netbooks ::

Trackbacks

  1. Awesome Addressbook for Netbook Remix « UbuntuGuru » NetbookBlog

Leave a Reply

